## 4.3.1.10 British Columbia

The government of British Columbia consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since July 2, 1968 the position of Lieutenant-Governor has been held by Colonel the Honourable J.R. Nicholson. The Legislative Assembly has 55 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. Following the August 1972 election, the thirtieth Legislature opened October 17, 1972 with 38 New Democrats, ten Social Credit members, five Liberals and two Progressive Conservatives sitting in the Assembly.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$5,000, \$2,500 for expenses, a living allowance of \$2,000 (based on a per diem rate of \$50, not exceeding 40 days), an allowance of 25 cents per mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route, and \$500 for telegraph and telephone expenses. In addition, the Premier is paid an annual salary of \$23,000, each member of the Executive Council with a portfolio \$20,000 and each member of the Executive Council without portfolio \$17,500. The Leader of the Opposition and the Speaker receive special allowances of \$9,000 for expenses; the Deputy Speaker receives a special allowance of \$3,500.

The thirtieth Ministry of British Columbia as at December 31, 1972

Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Finance, Hon, David Barrett

Provincial Secretary and Minister of Travel Industry, Hon. Ernest Hall

Attorney-General and Minister of Industrial Development, Trade and Commerce, Hon. Alexander Barrett Macdonald

Minister of Lands, Forests, and Water Resources and Minister of Recreation and Conservation, Hon. Robert Arthur Williams

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. David Daniel
Stupich

Minister of Mines and Petroleum Resources, Hon. Leo Thomas Nimsick

Minister of Highways, Hon. Robert Martin Strachan Minister of Labour, Hon. William Stewart King Minister of Education, Hon. Eileen Elizabeth Dailly

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Commercial Transport, Hon. James Gibson Lorimer

Minister of Health Services and Hospital Insurance, Hon. Dennis Geoffry Cocke Minister of Public Works, Hon. William Leonard

Minister of Rehabilitation and Social Improvement, Hon. Norman Levi Member of the Executive Council without portfolio, Hon. Frank Arthur Calder.

## 4.3.2 Territorial governments

4.3.2.1 Yukon Territory

The Yukon was established as a separate territory in 1898 to meet a need for local government created by the influx of miners during the gold-rush period. The Yukon Territory Act provided for a Commissioner and a Council of not more than six, all appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council was given legislative powers comparable to those held by the Lieutenant-Governor and the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. By 1902, five elected councillors had been added and in 1908 a fully elected Council of ten members was introduced. A population decline following the end of the gold rush was accelerated by enlistment during World War I and in 1919 the Council was reduced to three elected members. This remained the level of government until after World War II when population and economic activity again showed an increase, beginning with the building of the Alaska Highway. In 1960, the Council was increased to seven elected members and provision was made for the appointment of an Advisory Committee on Finance.

A principal feature of territorial government is its very close constitutional and working relationship with the Government of Canada. Although the provinces and the federal government each has jurisdiction and powers allocated by the British North America Act, the authority of the territorial government is allocated only by federal legislation. The Yukon Act prescribes the structure of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of the territorial government and the scope of their authority; all residual matters remain under federal control. The Yukon Territory has fully representative but not responsible government. Under

authority of the Act, Whitehorse was designated as the seat of government in 1953.

The Government Organization Act, 1966, which describes the responsibilities of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for the development of northern